Austin City Limits Announces New Class of Hall of Fame Inductees: Roy Orbison, Rosanne Cash & The Neville Brothers

Austin City Limits (ACL) is proud to announce the newest class of Austin City Limits Hall of Fame inductees: pioneering rocker Roy Orbison, Americana legend Rosanne Cash and New Orleans icons The Neville Brothers.  The 2017 ACL Hall of Fame inductees will be saluted at a star-studded ceremony to be held October 25, 2017 at ACL’s studio home, ACL Live at The Moody Theater in downtown Austin.  Renowned singer-songwriter Chris Isaak will induct his idol Roy Orbison and host the celebratory evening, which features an all-star line-up of guest performances including Grammy-winning legends Raul Malo and Ry Cooder and a New Orleans tribute to The Neville Brothers.  More information about performances, presenters and additional guest stars will be announced prior to the event.

The event will be open to the public and tickets are on sale April 21st at 10am CT at Musical highlights and inductions from the ceremony will be broadcast in a special New Year’s Eve episode of Austin City Limits as part of the program’s Season 43 which premieres in the fall on PBS.

The latest class of inductees features music legends who have given timeless performances on the ACL stage. Roy Orbison’s legendary appearance on ACL in 1983 is long considered one of the show’s undeniable classics.  With a setlist of indelible hits — “Only the Lonely,” “Crying,” “Blue Bayou,” and “Pretty Woman” — Orbison performed his greatest hits with all the emotional power that made him an icon.  Singer-songwriter Rosanne Cash debuted on ACL the same season as Roy Orbison in 1983 and has gone on to make seven standout appearances, each showcasing her artistic evolution as a songwriter.  The Neville Brothers appeared on the show in 1979, 1986 and 1995, raising the bar on funk and soul with each appearance.

“Our annual Hall of Fame Induction and Celebration has become one of the highlights of the year,” says ACL Executive Producer Terry Lickona. “This year’s honorees represent historic milestones in ACL’s early years. Roy Orbison gave the audience collective goosebumps when he hit those highest notes; Rosanne was a trailblazer among female country singers; and The Neville Brothers were the first major New Orleans band to play the show. Even in those early days, they represented the diversity that has been the hallmark of Austin City Limits down through the decades.”

The Austin City Limits Hall of Fame was established in 2014 to celebrate the contributions of those legendary artists and key individuals who have played a vital part in creating the legacy of what has become the longest-running music series in television history, now in its 43rd year.  The inaugural induction ceremony in 2014 honored Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, Lloyd Maines, program creator Bill Arhos and Darrell Royal.  2015’s second annual ACL Hall of Fame ceremony honored Asleep at the Wheel, Loretta Lynn, Guy Clark, Flaco Jiménez and Townes Van Zandt, along with the original crew of the show’s first season in 1974-75.  The 2016 Hall of Fame honored Kris Kristofferson, Bonnie Raitt and B.B. King, alongside former ACL executive producer Dick Peterson.

Article courtesy of Country Music Tattle Tale

About Everything Country

Everything Country is your #1 source for country music news, music, new artists, food, recipes, reviews, events, shopping and more.