Carrie Underwood Surprises 2019 CMA Broadcast Awards Winners In Early Reveal

Carrie Underwood Surprises 2019 CMA Broadcast Awards Winners In Early Reveal
Carrie Underwood Photo Credit: Randee St. Nicholas

NASHVILLE — Carrie Underwood, host of this year’s CMA Awards, surprised radio stations and broadcast personalities this morning to reveal the news of their 2019 CMA Broadcast Awards wins, announced in advance of the “The 53rd Annual CMA Awards” show and presentation.

Underwood, a seven-time CMA Awards winner and a three-time CMA Awards nominee this year, called each of the stations to announce the exciting news. See below for the full list of 2019 CMA Broadcast Awards winners.

Winners will be honored at “The 53rd Annual CMA Awards,” Country Music’s Biggest Night™, airing live from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville Wednesday, Nov. 13 at 8/7c on the ABC Television Network. 

CMA BROADCAST PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR WINNERS: NATIONAL “The Bobby Bones Show” (Bobby Bones, Amy Brown, “Lunchbox” Dan Chappell and Eddie Garcia) – Premiere NetworksMAJOR MARKET“The Morning Wolfpack with Matt McAllister” (Matt McAllister, Emily Raines and “Slow Joe” Wallace) – KKWF, Seattle-Tacoma, Wash.

LARGE MARKET “Q Morning Crew” (Mike Wheless and Janie Carothers) – WQDR, Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

MEDIUM MARKET“Mo & Styckman” (Melissa “Mo” Wagner and Greg “Styckman” Owens) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.

SMALL MARKET “Dr. Shane and Tess in the Morning” (Shane Collins and Tess Connell) – WPAP, Panama City, Fla. CMA RADIO STATION OF THE YEAR WINNERS: MAJOR MARKET WIL – St. Louis, Mo.

LARGE MARKETWSIX – Nashville, Tenn.

MEDIUM MARKET WIVK – Knoxville, Tenn.

SMALL MARKET WYCT – Pensacola, Fla. 

The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement and biographical information. Candidates for Radio Station of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement and format leadership.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the United States and Canada were eligible. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions.

CMA Broadcast Awards winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2018 were not eligible in 2019.  

About the CMA AwardsThe first “CMA Awards Banquet and Show” was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network television. The CMA Awards have aired on ABC since 2006. ABC is the network home of the CMA Awards and CMA’s other two television properties, “CMA Fest” and “CMA Country Christmas.”

CMA Awards ballots are tabulated by the professional services organization, Deloitte. As used in the document, “Deloitte” means Deloitte and Touche LLP, a subsidiary of Deloitte LLP. Please see for a detailed description of Deloitte’s legal structure. Certain services may not be available to attest clients under the rules and regulations of public accounting. 

About Everything Country

Everything Country is your #1 source for country music news, music, new artists, food, recipes, reviews, events, shopping and more.

Leave a Reply