Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Elects Four New Members

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame announced its class of 2017 today (Aug. 9): Vern Gosdin (posthumously), Jim McBride, Walt Aldridge and Tim Nichols. The foursome will be inducted on Oct. 23 at the Music City Center, joining the 203 existing members of the organization, including Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, Kris Kristofferson, Loretta Lynn, Garth Brooks and more.

Walt and Tim were selected in the Songwriter category, while Jim secured his spot as Veteran Songwriter and Vern was elected as Songwriter/Artist.

Vern Gosdin

Partial Song List

“Set ’Em Up Joe”
“I’m Still Crazy”
“Chiseled In Stone”
“Today My World Slipped Away
“If You’re Gonna Do Me Wrong (Do It Right)”
Jim McBride

Partial Song List

“Rose In Paradise” (Waylon Jennings)
“Chasing That Neon Rainbow” (Alan Jackson)
“Chattahoochee” (Alan Jackson)
“A Bridge That Just Won’t Burn” (Conway Twitty)
“Your Memory Ain’t What It Used To Be” (Mickey Gilley)
Walt Aldridge

Partial Song List

“(There’s) No Gettin’ Over Me” (Ronnie Milsap)
“Holding Her And Loving You” (Earl Thomas Conley)
“Modern Day Bonnie And Clyde” (Travis Tritt)
“I Am a Simple Man” (Ricky Van Shelton)
“Some Things Never Change” (Tim McGraw)
Tim Nichols

Partial Song List

“I’m Over You” (Keith Whitley)
“Heads Carolina, Tails California” (Jo Dee Messina)
“Live Like You Were Dying” (Tim McGraw)
“That’d Be Alright” (Alan Jackson)
“The Man I Want To Be” (Chris Young)

photos courtesy Nashville Songwriters HOF

About Everything Country

Everything Country is your #1 source for country music news, music, new artists, food, recipes, reviews, events, shopping and more.

Leave a Reply